Book Online
Book Online Date: Guests: [Adults + Children]
Hilden House Reviews and Customer Feedback

Please see below a selection of our more recent Customer Reviews and Feedback about their stay with us (for older reviews please click on the TripAdvisor link at the bottom of this page or visit www.laterooms.com and www.booking.com):

April 2014 - TripAdvisor - “lovely, peaceful and cosy"

Absolutely lovely place to stay, ever so peaceful and cosy - and I'm immensely grateful to the owners for getting up at the crack of dawn on a Sunday to cook me a hearty breakfast at 7.30am, an hour earlier than breakfast is supposed to start, since I had to get to the weigh-in for a powerlifting competition at 8am. Lovely breakfast, set me up very well for the day. I hope I can return soon for a little holiday

Febuary 2014 - TripAdvisor - “Excellent"

Stayed here for a couple of nights on valentine's weekend, it's ideally situated close to the town centre. Room was very spacious with nice comfortable bed. Everything was extremely clean and tidy. Breakfast was perfect with plenty of choice(especially enjoyed the sausage) I would definitely recommend if you are visiting Cheltenham.

Febuary 2014 - TripAdvisor - “Excellent Find : Great Accomodation, Location & Service"

Hilden House is a charming period Georgian townhouse within walking distance of Cheltenham town. It is also well positioned for a more energetic yomp to the racetrack, as the droves of people passing down Evesham Road on Gold Cup week are testimony to. The rooms have been furnished with careful and respectful eye to its Regency heritage , whilst at the same time that essential mod-con 'wifi' is available throughout , and at no extra charge. What makes Hilden House truly superlative however is the outstanding service you will receive from its managers Shelley & Aidan McGonigle. My top marks go to Hilden House for quality, location and service. As a frequent business traveller to Cheltenham over the years, I have returned to Hilden House each time , and would recommend it to business and recreational travellers alike.

January 2014 - TripAdvisor - “Excellent stay in a charming B&B"

I had travelled up from London to help my parents move into a new property in Cheltenham. Unfortunately, due to a disaster with the removal company, we were forced to seek alternative accommodation for the night. What luck that we found Hilden House, who couldn't have been more accommodating or helpful; they bent over backwards to ensure that we were looked after and had an excellent stay. The rooms were both spotless and incredibly comfortable and the staff were warm, friendly and genuine, not to mention the location which is ideal for the centre of town. Despite being in a rush the next day, and therefore checking out before the start of the breakfast service, the owners were keen that we didn't miss out and so opened the breakfast rooms up early for us. The breakfast was delicious and the owner even stopped to chat to us while we were eating. I would definitely recommend to anone thinking of staying in Cheltenham.

January 2014 - TripAdvisor - “What a Great find"Arrived there on a rainy afternoon. Initially worried because couldn't see anywhere to park but upon ringing the hotel was assured that once you park up - they give you a permit to display in your car The welcome to this lovely building was warm and genuine from the husband and wife owners. We gasped when we saw our rooms - they were not just spacious but gorgeously decorated too. Clean, warm and well lit with lots of thoughtful detail in mirrors,lighting, tea/coffee and cosmetics. The owners were very helpful with suggestions of where to eat. We went to the movies as it's just a five minute walk from the main High Street and Cineworld - so location wise - perfect for us. Breakfast in the morning - perfect poached eggs, fresh produce and juices. Faultless. We loved our stay - both our rooms were superb. Just wish we'd been there for longer. A real treat.

January 2014 - TripAdvisor - “Family get Together"

Fantastic.We were treated so well.Excellent hosts,we shared a drink with them,discussing our travels!The room was spotless.A very tasty and ample breakfast.We were not rushed to check out.We will be staying there again on our next trip to Cheltenham.

December 2013 - TripAdvisor - “Superb lovely hospitality" My fiance and myself stayed here for 3nights over the Christmas break. We were upgraded at no extra cost. The room was very spacious and comfortable especially the super size bed. We had a great night sleep. Breakfast was excellent. Location was great for town centre, race course etc. Will definitely be returning as shelley and aiden are excellent friendly hosts.

November 2013 - TripAdvisor - “Super Stay" This is our second trip to this fantastic B&B, would highly recommend it & will definitely be going back! Our accommodation was perfect. The hosts, Shelley and Aidan were extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast in the morning was delicious, everything was cooked perfectly. The location is also super – it’s close to the racecourse and is only a very short walk into the centre of town. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

October 2013 - TripAdvisor - "Top quality B&B "

This elegant small hotel is reminiscent of a bygone era with its regency stripes and crystal chandeliers - but there is nothing old-fashioned about the accommodation provided. Great location, beautifully appointed rooms, pristine bathrooms, delicious breakfast and charming hosts. What more could you want?

 

October 2013 - TripAdvisor - “Friendly cosy comfort with excellent food"

I really enjoyed my stay at Hilden House. Shelly was really helpful fitting in with my arrival and departure times and very welcoming. The hotel is in an excellent location for the town centre. My room was spotless, cosy and very nicely decorated. Aiden cooks a fabulous full English breakfast.

I definitely want to return next year.

 

 

October 2013 - TripAdvisor - "Excellent B&B in great location"

This is a really friendly and cosy B&B in a perfect location for visiting Cheltenham. Upon arrival the owners were immediately very welcoming and provided us with useful info about the town and surrounding area which was great. The breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice - I thoroughly recommend Hilden House for anyone visiting Cheltenham

 

September 2013 - TripAdvisor - "Excellent B&B"

Perfect location, delicious breakfast, clean and beautiful room and bathroom, Shelly and Aidan really made our stay so enjoyable! Love the little social bar for the pre or post dinner drink! We will def stay again when we're next in Cheltenham!

 

September 2013 - TripAdvisor - "I only have good things to say about this place"

If you are looking for a base from which to explore the Cotswolds, you really can't do much better. You will be very well taken care of by Aiden and Shelley in this beautifully decorated Regency style house located a reasonable distance from the Cheltenham high street. Rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. And the breakfasts are hearty, with numerous hot choices - I loved the salmon and eggs. Perhaps the best aspect, however, is the personal attention that Aiden and Shelley provide their guests. It's almost like staying with friends. By the way, if you are looking for a guided tour of the Cotswolds, Shelley can recommend a gentleman who is a Cotswolds native and knows the area inside out, for a very reasonable price. I would stay here again and recommend it highly.

 

 

August 2013 - TripAdvisor - "Gem of a place"

I recently stayed here for 1 night when my business trip had to be extended. Recommended by the previous hotel I was staying at and only booked on the day I was staying I found Hilden House friendly and of a very good standard. On my arrival that evening around 6 pm, I was greeted by a lovely friendly gentlemen who showed me to my room and explained some of the features of the room ( how to operate the shower, lights etc) a great touch. My room was at the back of the house on the first floor and was quiet and not overlooked. Bed was very comfortable, shower was powerful, toiletries provided, good size television and I got a great nights sleep. Breakfast selection was very good, I chose smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a muffin which was totally delicious! My stay was great and I would not hesitate to stay again. Thank you for a great night

 

May 2013 - TripAdvisor - "The B&B that will spoil you for any others forever"

My husband and I were planning on attending a family event in Cheltenham and assumed we would stay with my in-laws. Wrong--they'd already promised their spare rooms to others. So, at the last minute, we had to quickly search for a room. Many places were fully booked, but Hilden House had one room left and we snatched it.
What a lucky find! The room was charmingly appointed without being fussy. We were a bit concerned that our room fronted on the main road, but the glazing was such that we didn't hear a thing of any traffic. The host here was highly personable and even kept the bar open for us a bit after his normal closing time so my husband could try a beer he'd never had before.
Breakfast made the whole stay even more special. Everything was first-rate: good quality yogurt and jams, and the fresh fruit included fresh berries out of season, not the usual tinned fruit or sad little apple and banana salads you mostly get this time of year. And that doesn't count the cooked to order full English breakfast, made with the best quality ingredients and cooked with care. Believe me when I say that I have stayed in literally dozens of B and B's over the years in Britain and I have never had a better breakfast. (OK, in the interests of full candor, I should say that the coffee was somewhat weak, but I've found that British people generally like it that way, so that's more of a personal opinion. Anyway, stick with tea in the UK--play to their strengths!)
Overall, our stay was delightful. Next time we come to Cheltenham, I wouldn't even bother asking my in-laws if we can stay with them. Not if the Hilden House has a room for us!

December 2012 - TripAdvisor - "Excellent"

"My husband and i stayed for 1 night on 8th december, our room was lovely all we needed was provided. the couple were so friendly and we were given a warm welcome. the breakfast was great no long waits everything ran so smoothly will be staying again very soon."

December 2012 - TripAdvisor - "Deserves its status"

" Just back, stayed for one night 1st Dec with another couple. Completely deserves it's great reviews, wouldn't hesitate to stay here. Perfect location, rooms small but perfectly formed, most importantly lovely and cosy warm (temps dropped this weekend to sub zero but got back in at midnight and it was lovely and warm). Breakfast, just as the others have all said ..... Wonderful!"

November 2012 - TripAdvisor - "Beautiful base in an elegant city"

"There are some hotels that just "belong" to the city they are in and Hilden House is one of them - just so Cheltenham! I loved staying at Hilden House for 3 nights in early October. My room was so elegant and classically English. Very feminine without the frills and chintz. Beautiful breakfast, in the wonderful breakfast room presided over so warmly and professionally by Shelley. I loved sitting by the window enjoying the garden and the view of the elegant Regency houses opposite. Gorgeous biscuits on the tea tray in my room, cute little bar, special touches everywhere. Perfect location for walking everywhere."

November 2012 - TripAdvisor - "Superb"

"We stayed 2 nights, Friday and Saturday for the November race meeting.Having stayed in previous years at hotels such as the Thistle and Mercure we decided to try Hilden House given the favourable reviews and comments.We were not disappointed.The room was first class,comfortable and well furnished and the breakfast excellent.Shelley was extremely helpful and the perfect hostess. We will be trying to stay here whenever we are in Cheltenham again and would recommend this as better value than any of the hotels we have tried."

September 2012 - TripAdvisor - "A warm welcome"

"We only stayed one night but would have been very happy to stay longer. A very warm and personal welcome from the hosts, very comfortable room with everything you need. Very convenient location a short walk from the town centre and very close to the park. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. A real bonus to have free on-street parking available with the permits they give to guests. Would definitely return."

September 2012 - TripAdvisor - "Superbly managed. Excellent accommodation and breakfast in a great location"

"We spent 4 nights at Hilden House & could not fault it. Breakfast was freshly made & the menu extensive. Our room was lovely. Quiet, overlooking the courtyard. Easy walk into the centre of Cheltenham was a bonus too. We would definitely stay here again. All the management were welcoming & made our stay so pleasurable! "

September 2012 - TripAdvisor

"Had 3 nights at the Hilden House and couldn't fault it. Lovely room, fabulous hosts in Aiden and Shelley assisted by a true character in Phil Cook. The room was absolutely spotless and breakfasts excellent in a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere. One of the best places we have ever stayed in, the team really made an effort to make our stay extra special. Will definitely be back, a real gem."

June 2012 - TripAdvisor - "Wonderful stay & even more wonderful hosts!"

"Shelley and Aidan were very welcoming and friendly, nothing too much trouble. The room was spotless and decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room and was absolutely first class !! The Hotel is situated within easy walking distance from shops, restaurants etc."

May 2012 - LateRooms - "Great place to stay"

"Great location. Close to the High Street area and restaurants and close to the race track. Clean and the breakfasts were wonderful. Aidan and Shelley were the perfect hosts! "

May 2012 - TripAdvisor - "Amazing Escape"

"Staying in Hilden House is like being home. Shelley and Aidan are very warm and friendly from
the first step into their house. They have time for small chats, to give advice for almost every
question; where to eat, what to do in Cheltenham and surroundings, what to see. The house and the garden are the reflection of two people, who put all their love and knowlidge into the
property. All i have to say: Go and experience for yourself."

May 2012